Virender Sehwag, Aakash Chopra named in DDCA’s Cricket Committee, Gautam Gambhir 'special invitee'

The newly elected president of DDCA, Rajat Sharma, confirmed all the appointments via Twitter.

Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir have been given a role in DDCA to transform Delhi cricket | Getty

The newly elected president of Delhi and District Cricket Association's (DDCA), Rajat Sharma, on Wednesday (July 25) disclosed the appointment of a Cricket Committee, comprised of former Test and state icon Virender Sehwag.

Apart from Sehwag, former India and Delhi cricketers Aakash Chopra and Rahul Sanghvi were also named in the committee. The DDCA president also mentioned India opener Gautam Gambhir as a "special invitee to the committee", without further clarifying on his role.

It is worth mentioning here that Gambhir was appointed as ‘Government Nominee’ in DDCA last year but the Supreme Court-appointed administrator Justice Vikramajit Sen has removed him from the post, saying that an active cricketer can’t take up this role.

"The Cricket Committee is authorised to form various Selection Committees as per the recommendations made by the Lodha Committee and the BCCI guidelines for the State Association and to give valuable guidance to the Association for the improvement of Cricket in Delhi," the DDCA said in a statement released on Wednesday.

Taking to Twitter, Rajat Sharma posted a series of tweets confirming all the appointments.

Earlier this month, Mr. Sharma had secured the DDCA polls with 54.40% of votes. Rajat Sharma's team include Kumar Rakesh Bansal, who won the Vice President polls with 48.87% votes in his favour.

“I thank all members of DDCA who voted in the elections and reposed their trust in us. I now invite all the members to join hands to bring about transparency in the functioning of DDCA,” Sharma had tweeted after his victory.



By Salman Anjum - 25 Jul, 2018

    Share Via