Ashes 2019 schedule released by England Cricket Board; first under ICC Test championship annals

The Ashes 2019 will be played a fortnight after the ICC World Cup 2019.

Australia are the current holders of the Ashes urn | Getty

The Australia-England rivalry will begin a new chapter with Ashes 2019 happening after the ICC World Cup 2019, to be held in England and Wales. The 2019 Ashes will also be the first to be played under the new ICC Test Championship for both teams.

The ICC Test Championship will see nine of the 12 Test nations (excluding newcomers Ireland and Afghanistan, as well as Zimbabwe) play six series over two years – three home and three away - in a league format before a final in June 2021.

The historic Lord’s cricket ground will hold the second Test of the series, while Trent Bridge has been given a miss for Ashes 2019. It was at this ground where Australia was skittled for 60 runs in Ashes 2015, with Stuart Board routing them with figures of 8/15.

Australia currently holds the urn following a win at home in the 2017-18 summer, but they have not won an away Ashes series since Steve Waugh's side triumphed 4-1 in 2001. Australia has won just four of 20 Tests on British soil, losing 10 with six draws since then.

The 2019 Ashes could also mark the returns of David Warner, Steve Smith, and Cameron Bancroft, as the series will be played after their suspension for sandpapergate ends.

Australia will play eight Tests before the Ashes – two against Pakistan in the UAE, four against India and two more against Sri Lanka at home – giving others ample time to bed down spots in the Test team.

Ashes 2019 schedule:

First Test: August 1-5 at Edgbaston, Birmingham
Second Test: August 14-18 at Lord's, London
Third Test: August 22-26 at Headingley, Leeds
Fourth Test: September 4-8 at Old Trafford, Manchester
Fifth Test: September 12-16 at The Oval, London


By Jatin Sharma - 19 Jul, 2018

    Share Via