Bangladesh announce their ODI squad for the tour of West Indies

Bangladesh will be against the West Indies for 3 ODIs.

Mashrafe Mortaza will lead the ODI side in Caribbean (ICC)

Bangladesh Cricket Board(BCB) on Tuesday, July 3 has announced their ODI squad to take on against the West Indies during the upcoming tour to the Caribbean. The side made up around the long-standing pillars in Mashrafe Mortaza, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahman and Tamim Iqbal, is clearly indicative of Bangladesh's quest for consistency and ambition to try and be ripe for the World Cup which is just less than a year away. 

Mashrafe Mortaza will lead the side after a while having recovered from his recent injuries, with Shakib Al Hasan deputing him. Tamim Iqbal will, as he has been doing for as far as one can remember, shoulder the responsibility at the top of the order, alongside youngster Anamul Haque. Who has been drafted in with the selectors finally feeling that it is time something be done about Soumya Sarkar's form.  

The middle order will, again, revolve around the prowess of Mushfiqur Rahman and Shakib Al Hasan, with the duo guiding Sabbir Rahman, Liton Das and Mosaddek Hossain on the job and by now, everyone understands that Bangladesh's preferred position for Mahmudullah Riad is lower down the order finishing the innings like he did in the Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka recently. 

Mushfiqur Rahman will be performing the wicketkeeping duties, with Liton Das being selected as the second wicketkeeper. Das is actually making a comeback into the ODI side, after missing out from the side that played Bangladesh's last 50-overs assignment. 

On the bowling front, the best news for all Bangladeshi fans will be the comeback of Mustafizur Rahman, as the left-arm fast bowler has made a recovery having missed out from the side that played the T20I series against Afghanistan in India due to an ankle injury. 

The ODI series will begin on July 22 soon after the culmination of the two-Test series. The 50-over games will be played at Guyana and St. Kitts with the former playing host to the first two ODIs.


Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Nazmul Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed

(Inputs from Cricbuzz)


By Kashish Chadha - 03 Jul, 2018

    Share Via