ICC inducts Rahul Dravid, Ricky Ponting and Claire Taylor in the Hall of Fame

The players were inducted in a ceremony held in Dublin, Ireland.

Rahul Dravid | Getty

Former India captain Rahul Dravid, three-times World Cup winner Australia’s Ricky Ponting and 2009 ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year England’s Claire Taylor were all inducted in the 2018 class of ICC Hall of Fame.

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame is our way of honoring the greats of our game," said ICC chief executive David Richardson. "Only the very best players in the world are recognized for their contribution to cricket in this way and I would like to congratulate Rahul, Ricky, and Claire who are wonderful additions to the list of cricketing luminaries in the Hall of Fame."

Rahul Dravid is one of the seven players to do the double of 10,000 runs in both Tests and ODIs. He was the first ICC Cricketer of the Year award recipient in 2004, beating the likes of Kallis, Ponting Flintoff, and Muralitharan. Owner of the records of the highest catches by a non-wicketkeeper in Tests -210 and most deliveries faced in Tests – 31,258; Dravid becomes only the 5th Indian to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

"It is a matter of great honor to be named by the ICC in the Cricket Hall of Fame," Dravid said. "To find your name in a list of all-time greats across generations is something one only dreams of while setting out on a cricket career and the kind of recognition that would delight any player."

Ricky Ponting | Getty

Ricky Ponting ended his international career in 2012 as the second highest run-getter in Tests behind Sachin Tendulkar and third highest run-getter in ODI cricket behind Tendulkar and Sangakkara. Member of the 1999 World Cup winning Australian team, Ponting captained them to an unbeaten run in 2003 and 2007 ICC World Cups. Ponting also won the Cricketer of the Year in 2006 and 2007 and is the 25th Australian player to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

"I feel deeply honored to be recognized by the ICC in this way," Ponting said. "I loved every moment of my journey as a player and am so very proud of the team and personal achievements along the way."

Claire Taylor | Getty

Claire Taylor is the 3rd English and overall 7th women’s cricketer to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Member of an elite list of players with 1000 Test runs and 4000 ODI runs, Taylor also won the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2009, where she was the player of the tournament and then also lifted the ICC World T20, the same year.

"It's a great honor to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame alongside some of the greatest names of the men's and women's game from across the world and throughout the generations, players who I looked up to during my playing career and hold in great esteem," Taylor said.


By Jatin Sharma - 02 Jul, 2018

    Share Via