Rashid, Afridi, McCullum delighted to be in ESPNCricinfo's All-time T20 XI

The trio took to Twitter to express their happiness on being selected.

Rashid Khan, Shahid Afridi and Brendon McCullum, three outstanding T20 players.

Shahid Afridi, Brendon McCullum, and Rashid Khan are delighted to have been selected by ESPNCricinfo in the platform's all-time T20 Internationals XI from the last 25 years of cricket.

ESPNCricinfo, which is celebrating the completion of its 25 years, has got together a bunch cricket experts to select these wonderful XIs across all formats. 

Earlier the best Test XI and ODI XI were released and now the team that features the greatest T20 players has been announced and a certain 19-year-old from Afghanistan, who has been absolutely brilliant in the shortest format, is excited to have been considered good enough to walk into this side, so early in his playing career. 

Rashid Khan posted the picture of the prestigious eleven from ESPNcricinfo that had his name included, over Twitter and captioned it, "Delighted to be selected as The All-Time T20I XI of the last 25 years cricket and to be among top cricket players around the world. Thank you Jury and @ESPNcricinfo ????????????????"

Other than Rashid, Shahid Afridi and Brendon McCullum too, are pleased to be the part of this side. Afridi has got into this team for being one of the early greats in the T20 format for his exploits for Pakistan. He was man of the tournament in the inaugural edition of the World T20 in South Africa and was absolutely magnificent in 2009 where he helped Pakistan lift the trophy.

Afridi was everything T20 stood for and it is only right he finds a place in the all-time XI in this format. He has been picked as the all-rounder to complete the bowling line up that has Umar Gul, Rashid Khan, Dwayne Bravo and Lasith Malinga. 

He tweeted, "Humbled to be included in the @ESPNcricinfo list of T20I XI alongside some phenomenal T20 players. Thank you for the support over the years"

Another T20 legend Brendon McCullum also took to Twitter to express his happiness for being part of the eleven that will beat most T20 sides around the world. 

He tweeted, "I am very humbled to be included in this list alongside some phenomenal T20 players! The all-time men's T20I XI"

McCullum, the man who launched the Indian Premier League with his 158* for Kolkata Knight Riders against the Royal Challengers Banglore in the first ever game of the league, has been a prolific run-getter in the most thrilling form of our sport and deserves his spot batting in the top seven that also includes, Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villers, MS Dhoni and Shahid Afridi.


By Kashish Chadha - 24 Jun, 2018

    Share Via