Former Indian cricketer Vijay Yadav to join India U-19 coaching staff for Sri Lanka tour

Vijay Yadav played 19 One Day Internationals for India.

Indian 19 team will travel to Sri Lanka next month | Getty Images

Vijay Yadav, the former Indian wicket-keeper batsman, is all set to travel with head coach Rahul Dravid and his U19 team to Sri Lanka as fielding coach next month. The news was confirmed by Yadav himself on Thursday (21 June).

The India U19 team is scheduled to play five One Day Internationals and two four-day matches, for which cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar’s son Arjun also selected, in Sri Lanka next month.

Meanwhile Yadav, who represented India in only Test and 19 One Day Internationals from 1992 to 1994, will join the preparatory camp at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru from 1 July.

Besides Rahul Dravid, Vijay will join other U19 coaching staff - Abhay Sharma and Paras Mhambrey — touring England with India A team, W. V. Raman and Sanath Kumar for Sri Lanka tour.

Yadav confirmed to Sportstar, “It is true that I will be the fielding coach of the team.”

Meanwhile, it will be not the first assignment for Yadav with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as he previously travelled with India A squad to South Africa last year.

Noteworthy, the hard-hitting lower middle-order batsman played 89 matches for Haryana and scored 3,988 runs in the First-class Cricket. He also took 237 catches and affected 46 stumpings. The 51-year-old now runs an academy in Faridabad and has also been the coach of the Haryana Ranji Trophy team.

Here are India U19 squads for Sri Lanka tour:

India U19 squad for 2 four-day games:

Anuj Rawat (C) (WK) (DDCA), Atharva Taide (VCA), Devdutt Padikkal (KSCA), Aryan Juyal (VC) (WK) (UPCA), Yash Rathod (VCA), Ayush Badoni (DDCA), Sameer Choudhary (UPCA), Siddharth Desai (GCA), Harsh Tyagi (DDCA), Y.D. Mangwani (MHCA), Arjun Tendulkar (MCA), Nehal Wadhera (PCA), Akash Pande (GCA), Mohit Jangra (UPCA), Pawan Shah (MHCA).

India U19 squad for one-days:

Aryan Juyal (C) (WK) (UPCA), Anuj Rawat (WK) (DDCA), Devdutt Padikkal (KSCA), Atharva Taide (VCA), Yash Rathod (VCA), Ayush Badoni (DDCA), Sameer Choudhary (UPCA), Siddharth Desai (GCA), Harsh Tyagi (DDCA), Y.D. Mangwani (MHCA), Ajay Devgaud (HYD), Y. Jaiswal (MCA), Mohit Jangra (UPCA), Akash Pande (GCA), Pawan Shah (MHCA).


By Rashmi Nanda - 22 Jun, 2018

    Share Via