No pink ball fixtures in the Sheffield Shield 2018-19, confirms Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia's announces big changes in Sheffield Shield after India refused to play D/N Tests.

Australian will play five Sheffield Shield matches before India Tests | Getty Images

India's refusal to play Day/Night Test in Australia later this year had a great impact on the Australian domestic circuit, especially on the JLT Sheffield Shield tournament this season.

It is learned that Cricket Australia has decided to play only Day matches with the red ball in the upcoming Sheffield Shield in a bid to get prepared for the 2018-19 Border-Gavaskar Test series.

On 21 June (Thursday) CA has announced the schedule for the upcoming domestic season 2018-19 and there will be no pink-ball cricket in the JLT Sheffield Shield for the first time in six summers.

Australia wanted to host the Adelaide Test to be a day-night affair, but BCCI officially made it clear to Cricket Australia that the Indian Cricket Team would not engage in any pink ball Test during the tour.

Cricket Australia's official website reported that “Five full rounds of Sheffield Shield matches scheduled prior to the summer’s opening Test against India, starting on 6 December” while “Perth’s new stadium will host its maiden Test match” from 14-18 December which will be the second Test between Australia and India.

Virat Kohli and his players will travel to Australia for a two-month long tour in November this year to play three T20 Internationals, four Tests and three One Day Internationals.

Noteworthy, Australian side is currently busy in playing One Day International series in England. Australia have already lost the series with still two matches to go in the series. 


By Rashmi Nanda - 21 Jun, 2018

    Share Via