Steve Smith and David Warner to play in Global T20 Canada tournament

The six-team Canada's T20 tournament set to get underway on June 28.

David Warner and Steve Smith suspended for 12-month  by Cricket Australia | Getty Images

Tainted Australian cricketers Steve Smith and David Warner are all set to return to competitive action, as they have been drafted on Sunday (3 June) by the Toronto Nationals and the Winnipeg Hawks respectively for the upcoming inaugural edition of the Canadian T20 league starting from 28 June.

Warner has been picked up by the Hawks in the third round of the draft after booking West Indian premier T20 all-rounder Dwayne Bravo and South Africa’s David Miller in the first and second rounds respectively, while Smith got a bidder in the second round, will join Darren Sammy and Kieron Pollard in the Nationals squad.  

The Australian duo were handed a 12-month international and first-class ban by Cricket Australia for their roles in the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa earlier this year.

Meanwhile, Warner will also play for the Randwick Petersham Cricket Club in the Sydney Grade Cricket competition, as well as, signed up for the NT’s Strike League in Darwin.

On the other hand, other cricketing stars likes of Shahid Afridi, Chris Gayle, Darren Sammy, Dwayne Bravo and Evin Lewis would be featuring in Canada’s T20 tournament, which is the six-team tournament takes place between June 28 to July 15 at Maple Leafe Cricket Club near Toronto.

Noteworthy, Warner and Smith both had lost their million dollars deal in the recently concluded Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) respectively following their involvement in the ball-tampering scandal.

Now, both are looking to make a fresh start to regain their image in the world of cricket and certainly the Canada T20 league will help them in bring back their morale after their involvement in the infamous incident. 


By Rashmi Nanda - 04 Jun, 2018

    Share Via