Shahid Afridi to lead ICC World XI after finger injury rules Eoin Morgan out of the squad

Shahid Afridi will come out of retirement to be part of this game which carries international status.

Sam Billings will replace Morgan in ICC World XI squad | Getty

Former Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi is all set to lead the ICC World XI team for the highly-anticipated Twenty20 International match against the West Indies at Lord’s on Thursday (May 31).

England’s limited-overs captain Eoin Morgan, who was initially named the captain of the side, pulled himself out of the squad due to a fractured finger. Sam Billings, who represented Chennai Super Kings in the just concluded IPL, will replace Morgan in the squad.

Morgan picked up the injury on his right ring finger during a Royal London One-Day Cup match against Somerset on Sunday (May 27). The southpaw is likely to regain fitness ahead of England's solitary ODI against Scotland in Edinburgh on June 10.

England pacers Sam Curran and Tymal Mills are the recent inductees in the squad which take the roster to 14 members. Before Morgan’s pulling out, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and India allrounder Hardik Pandya have withdrawn from the match owing to personal reason and viral infection respectively.

The blockbuster match will be played to raise funds for stadia in the Caribbean damaged by hurricanes last year.

The West Indies side will be led by Carlos Brathwaite. The current World Twenty20 champions will also have Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree and Andre Russell in their squad.

The venues that will benefit from this match are – Ronald Webster Park in Anguilla, the Sir Viv Richards Stadium in Antigua, the Windsor Park Stadium in Dominica, the A.O. Shirley Recreation Ground in the British Virgin Islands and the Carib Lumber Ball Park in St. Maarten.

ICC World XI Squad:

Shahid Afridi (C), Dinesh Karthik, Mitchell McClenaghan, Thisara Perera, Rashid Khan, Luke Ronchi, Shoaib Malik, Tamim Iqbal, Sandeep Lamichhane, Adil Rashid, Mohammed Shami, Sam Billings, Sam Curran, Tymal Mills


By Salman Anjum - 29 May, 2018

    Share Via