Bangladesh announce squad for T20I series against Afghanistan

Youngster Mosaddek Hossain has made a return to the T20 set-up.

Shakib Al Hasan will lead the side against Afghanistan. (AFP)

Bangladesh Cricket Board(BCB) has announced the 15 member T20 international squad for the series against Afghanistan in June. The first noticeable thing about the squad is the return of the young all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain. The youngster returns to the squad after missing out from the action because of an eye illness. 

Chief selector Minhajul Abedin was recently quoted saying, "Mosaddek missed out recently due to a problem with his eye but as he is fit now and playing well recently, we believe he is one of our future prospects and we still have that faith in him."

Imrul Kayes, Nurul Hasan, and Taskin Ahmed, who were part of the squad that played the Nidahas Trophy in Srilanka recently, have been dropped from this team. Taskin Ahmed will be missing this series as he is still recovering from his injury.

Abu Jayed and Ariful Haque, two youngsters who didn't play a game in Colombo have been persisted in the squad. Soumya Sarkar along with Abu Hider and Mehidy Hasan managed to stay in, despite not-so-great performances. 

The chief selector further added about his squad, "We want to send the best possible side because we are expecting it to be highly contested as they are a very competitive side in the shortest format, As a result, we were not keen to make a lot of changes," 

Bangladesh will travel to Dehradun on May 29 for the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan. The three games will be played on June 3, 5 and 7 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun.


Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah (vc), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Miraz, Nazmul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Rubel Hossain, Abu Jayed. 



By Kashish Chadha - 20 May, 2018

    Share Via