Sandeep Lamichhane named in ICC World XI for the high-profile T20I against West Indies

Eoin Morgan has been shouldered with the responsibility to lead the World XI side.

Sandeep Lamichhane is playing for Delhi Daredevils in the IPL 2018 | IANS

Nepal leg-spinner Sandeep Lamichhane, who is playing for Delhi Daredevils in the ongoing Indian Premier League, has been named in ICC World XI team for the highly-anticipated Twenty20 International match against the West Indies at Lord’s on 31 May.

The 17-year-old Lamichhane will join the star-studded line-up, which also comprises Eoin Morgan (captain), Shahid Afridi, Tamim Iqbal, Dinesh Karthik, Rashid Khan, Mitchell McClenaghan, Shoaib Malik, Hardik Pandya, Thisara Perera and Luke Ronchi.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who was initially added to the ICC World XI squad, has withdrawn from the match owing to personal reasons.

“I am privileged to have been chosen to be part of the ICC World XI against the Windies. It is an honour for the entire country and passionate followers of Nepal cricket, as well as an indicator that we are making our mark on the international game,” Lamichhane quoted as saying by ICC.

“Training, sharing the dressing room and playing with some of the trend-setters who we saw on television while growing up is something I look forward to. This is an opportunity for me to learn and improve, and I am committed to cashing in on this.

“What can I say about Lord’s, it’s the Home of Cricket, it’s a complete history of cricket and a dream venue for any cricketer. To play there in 2016 was a memorable occasion, which I look forward to reliving later this month. I hope I will continue to get opportunities in future which, in turn, will help me improve my skills as well as my country to strengthen its position on the world cricket map,” he added.

The blockbuster match will be played to raise funds for stadia in the Caribbean damaged by hurricanes last year.

The West Indies side will be led by Carlos Brathwaite. The current World Twenty20 champions will also have Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree and Andre Russell in their squad.

The venues that will benefit from this match are – Ronald Webster Park in Anguilla, the Sir Viv Richards Stadium in Antigua, the Windsor Park Stadium in Dominica, the A.O. Shirley Recreation Ground in the British Virgin Islands and the Carib Lumber Ball Park in St. Maarten.

(With inputs from ICC)


By Salman Anjum - 16 May, 2018

    Share Via