Sourav Ganguly surprised with Ajinkya Rahane’s exclusion from India’s ODI squad for England tour

Ambati Rayudu was preferred over Rahane in the 16-men ODI squad for England.

Ambati Rayudu received a national call-up after 2 years | AFP

Former India skipper Sourav Ganguly has expressed his disappointment over Ajinkya Rahane’s omission from India’s ODI squad for the England tour later this year.

On Tuesday (May 8), the BCCI announced the 16-men squad for the three-match ODI series against England in which Ambati Rayudu was preferred over Rahane. Rayudu is currently placed at the second spot in the list of leading run-scorer of IPL 2018 with 423 runs from 10 innings.

"Ajinkya Rahane has missed out on limited-overs squad. A harsh decision. I would still pick Ajinkya Rahane ahead of Ambati Rayudu. Ajinkya Rahane is a far superior player in England where the ball is going to move. He has got a good record in England," Ganguly told India Today.

While Dada supported selectors' decision to persist with Shreyas Iyer in the ODI squad, he questioned the move to ignore the youngster for the one-off Test at home against Afghanistan, scheduled to be played on June 14 in Bangalore.

Karun Nair was recalled in the Test team in place of Virat Kohli, who will be busy with his commitments for Surrey in the month of June.

"Shreyas Iyer is in the England ODI side which is a good decision. Karun Nair (in the Test squad vs Afghanistan) is a bit of a surprise. I am surprised that Shreyas Iyer has not been picked for the one-off Test considering he's been brilliant for Delhi in the IPL," Ganguly opined.

India’s tour of England will kick off from July 3 where they will play three T20Is and as many ODIs before featuring in a five-match Test series from August 1.

Team India for three-match ODI series against England:

Virat (Capt), Shikhar, Rohit, KL Rahul, Shreyas, Rayudu, MS Dhoni(wk), Dinesh Karthik, Chahal, Kuldeep, Sundar, Bhuvneshwar, Bumrah, Hardik, Kaul, Umesh

Team India for one-off Test against Afghanistan:

Ajinkya (Capt), Shikhar, Vijay, KL Rahul, Pujara, Karun Nair, Saha (wk), Ashwin, Jadeja, Kuldeep, Umesh, Shami, Hardik, Ishant, Shardul

By Salman Anjum - 09 May, 2018

    Share Via