Tim Paine selected to lead Australia in England ODI series

Australia have selected an inexperienced squad for the tour of England in June.

Tim Paine pic credit Gallo Images

Tim Paine, the current Australian Test Captain has now been given the responsibility to also lead the limited-overs side for the tour of England this year in June. Paine replaces Steve Smith, who has been banned after his inclusion in the recent ball-tampering saga for 12 months by Cricket Australia. 

Aaron Finch has been appointed the deputy of Tim Paine, as the vice-captain replacing David Warner from that position. Cricket Australia announced these developments through a media release. 

Selector Trevor Hohns said in a media release that, “Tim is a strong leader and will captain the side for this series, supported by Aaron, A decision on a permanent one-day captain will be made in due course.”

Alex Carey,  wicketkeeper-batsman for South Australia, has been included in the ODI squad but Paine will be doing the glove work in England.

Uncapped Darcy Short has been included as well as the squad sees the return of Nathan Lyon, Australia's main Test spinner, into the one-day set-up. Hohns talked about Lyon's inclusion stating, “England potentially have a number of left-handers in their side and we look forward to seeing what (Lyon) can produce with the white-ball in English conditions,”

Australia will be without key fast bowlers Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins, as they got injured during the Test series in South Africa and are not expected back until the test tour against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates. Josh Hazlewood will instead lead a pace attack which includes Kane Richardson, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye and Billy Stanlake.

Australia will play five one-dayers and a T20 match against England from June 13-27, before heading to Zimbabwe for a T20 tri-series against the host nation and Pakistan starting on July 1.

ODI squad:

Tim Paine (captain), Aaron Finch, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye.

T20 squad:

Aaron Finch (captain), Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Travis Head, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Jack Wildermuth.


By Kashish Chadha - 08 May, 2018

    Share Via