Squads for Afghanistan, England and Ireland tour to be announced on May 8

A real test of Virat's captaincy awaits in India's upcoming tour against England.

pic credit AFP

All-India Senior Selection Committee is set to announce the squads of Team India to play the historic Test match against Afghanistan and the limited-overs leg of the full tour to the UK this summer which includes series against England and Ireland separately. 

The Afganistan test is due to start on June 14 in Bangalore after which  India plays 2 T20Is against Ireland before moving to England and play 3 T2OIs and 3 ODIs from June 27th. The early announcement of the squads is purely down to last-minute visa-issues that can pop up and selectors also want clarity in the minds of the traveling players. 

India wants to prioritize their tough full tour to England this year and hence players have been given NOCs to play county championship this year and there is a big likelihood of Test specialists been sent in the squad of India A which is scheduled to play in England, leading upto India's five-match Test series that starts from 1st August. 

A Board official was quoted saying about the issue that, “There will be three squads that will be selected on May 8. The Afghanistan Test is from June 14-18, followed by UK tour that starts with two-match ODI series against Ireland in Dublin. The selectors will also name India A squad that will tour England in June,” 

According to the BCCI official, the Indian A team will have seven regular players from the senior side, including Ajinkya Rahane, Murali Vijay Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya among others. They will be leaving for UK soon after the match against Afghanistan.

India A tour of UK begins on June 21.


By Kashish Chadha - 04 May, 2018

    Share Via