Australia announces fixtures for India series, but still awaits BCCI's signal over day-night Test

The Adelaide Oval Test match will begin from 6 December 2018.

The Adelaide Oval Ground | Getty Images

Cricket Australia (CA) has confirmed on Monday (30 April) that the Test series opener against India will be played at the Adelaide Oval but it is yet to confirm whether be it a day-night affair.

The CA CEO James Sutherland has said in a media release that the country’s Board is continuously discussing with the Indian Cricket Board (BCCI) concerning staging the Test match under lights, but they have yet to strike an agreement over the same issue.

As per reports in Reuters, Sutherland said, “The Border-Gavaskar Trophy promises to be a bumper series, and it will be headlined by the world-famous Boxing Day Test at the MCG.”

The CA CEO further added, “There, we will also deliver a large-scale community festival in partnership with the Victorian Government, which will be a terrific celebration of Indian culture."

Sutherland signed off, "It is our preference that we play India in a day-night test match in Adelaide, but we are still working through this detail and hope to have an answer on this in the coming weeks.”

Earlier, Australia has already hosted New Zealand, South Africa, and England at Adelaide Oval for the pink-ball affair matches, while India have never played under lights and the BCCI has still not given the green signal for the Adelaide Test to be a day-night event.

India is all set to play 3 T20Is, 4 Tests and 3 ODIs in Australia and it will begin from November 2018 and will continue till mid-January 2019.

Here are the complete fixtures:

Nov. 21 – Australia v India, The Gabba, first T20I

Nov. 23 – Australia v India, MCG, second T20I

Nov. 25 – Australia v India, SCG, third T20I


Dec. 6-10 – Australia v India, Adelaide Oval, first Test

Dec. 14-18 – Australia v India, Perth Stadium, second Test

Dec. 26-30 – Australia v India, MCG, third Test

Jan. 3-7 – Australia v India, SCG, fourth Test


Jan. 12 – Australia v India, SCG, first ODI

Jan. 15 – Australia v India, Adelaide Oval, second ODI

Jan. 18 – Australia v India, MCG, third ODI


By Rashmi Nanda - 30 Apr, 2018

    Share Via