Aashish Kapoor named as chief of the All-India Junior Selection Committee

Venkatesh Prasad stepped down from the top post in March 2018.

India Under 19 team poses for a click | Twitter

Former Indian off-spinner Aashish Kapoor has been named as a replacement for Venkatesh Prasad as the chairman of All-India Junior Selection Committee, confirmed by the BCCI on Thursday (26 April).

Kapoor, who played four Tests and 17 ODIs for India between 1994 and 2000, is all set to lead the three-member panel, in which two other members are Gyanendra Pandey and Rakesh Parikh.

He had also played 128 first-class games and 93 List A matches for Tamil Nadu, taking 398 wickets and scoring 3449 runs. On the other hand, Kapoor was also a member of the 1996 World Cup Squad, but he was dropped and since then he never made it to ODI squad after 2000.

After which, the off-spinner made a strong comeback in the domestic cricket, as he was the highest wicket-taker for Tamil Nadu in 1999–2000 season.

Venkatesh Prasad | Getty Images

Meanwhile, Prasad stepped down from the top post in March after serving as the head of the junior national selection committee for 30 months, and joined Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) for the ongoing 2018 season of the T20 tournament.

Recently, India won the U-19 World Cup during Prasad’s tenure, but the selection panel was not given any cash reward.

It has reportedly said that Prasad had irked a senior office-bearer and due to which the junior selection committee never got a cash award after the World Cup triumph in New Zealand.


By Rashmi Nanda - 27 Apr, 2018

    Share Via