Rajya Sabha tenures of Rekha and Sachin Tendulkar to end in April 2018

Both celebrities were nominated to Rajya Sabha in 2012.

Sachin Tendulkar and Rekha

Actress Rekha and Bharat Ratna Sachin Tendulkar were nominated to the upper house of the parliament, the Rajya Sabha in 2012 by the then UPA government. Now that their tenures are set to end in April, there is furious lobbying to grab those coveted seats.

Both their tenures were marred by allegations of non participation and low attendance.

The tenures of both the celebrity members proved to be inefficient, as Rekha did not introduce any bill, nor did she ask any question in the House. She was a member of the Food, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution committee, as per the Rajya Sabha website.

"We have been yearning for the presence of the nominated members like Sachin Tendulkar and Rekha. They never come to the house. The entire session is over but we haven't seen them. If they are not coming, this means they have no interest in attending (Parliament). If they don't have interest, then they should resign," Samajwadi Party leader Naresh Aggarwal had said in 2017.

There will be 59 vacancies in the Rajya Sabha in April. The elections will be held on March 23.

Rajya Sabha has 250 members, 12 of whom are chosen by the President of India for their expertise in specific fields of art, literature, science, and social services. These members are known as nominated members. The remainder of the body is elected by state and territorial legislatures.


By Jatin Sharma - 22 Mar, 2018

    Share Via