Gujarat Premier League to kick off on May 28

Total six teams will participate in the league.

Gujarat Premier League | Youtube

After Mumbai and Tamil Nadu, Gujarat will also have their own T20 league. It was announced on Monday, that the inaugural edition of the Gujarat Premier League (GPL) will start on May 28.

Total of six former Indian players, 18 international and six domestic stars will be in action. There will be six teams contesting for the trophy in the eighteen games.

The tournament which will conclude on June 10, will be played in Surat, Ahmedabad, and Rajkot.

The event will have cricketers like Mohammad Kaif, Owais Shah, Herschelle Gibbs, Makhaya Ntini, Muttiah Muralitharan, Brian Lara, Andrew Symonds, Alistair Campbell, Ricardo Powell, Tino Best, Mathew Hoggard, Charles Coventry, Farveez Maharoof, Chamara Silva, Ajantha Mendis, Paul Adams, Justin Kemp, Ramesh Powar and many more.

GPL is being organized by “The Luxury-minds Entertainment L.L.P” and more than 15 corporate giants have shown their interests in teams and sponsorships.

The winner will get a cash prize of Rs 51 lakh, while the runners-up will earn Rs 21 lakh. Also, each participating team will get Rs 2 lakh in addition to the prize amount. Also, each participating team will get Rs 2 Lakh in addition to all the prize amount. 

Neo Sports have the broadcasting rights of the league. 


By Sihyeu Singh - 21 Mar, 2018

    Share Via