Zaheer Khan feels women cricketers should be paid more by BCCI

BCCI recently announced new pay structure for both men and women cricketers.

Indian women team reached the finals of the 2017 ICC Women's World Cup in England

BCCI recently rolled out a new pay structure for India's men and women cricketers, with the likes of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma getting A+ category contracts.

Men cricketers in the Grade A+ category will get 7 crores, while those in the Grade A category like former captain MS Dhoni will get 5 crores.

The women cricketers too received a pay hike with likes of Harmanpreet Kaur and Mithali Raj getting Grade A contracts which will see them getting 50 lakhs. The lowest category here is Grade C where players will get 10 lakhs.

Despite the pay hike, many people have raised questions about the massive difference in the fees of men and women cricketers, as somebody like Jayant Yadav will get 1 crore, despite not playing any matches for Team India in the past year; while Mithali Raj will get half the amount for leading the womens team.

Former Indian speedster Zaheer Khan was asked for his opinion on this issue, and he spoke in favour of the women players getting paid higher. He said, "There is a process in place and accordingly salaries are decided. Earlier, women cricketers weren't associated with the BCCI but they have come under its fold now." 

Zaheer further added, "We really hope that the women too get hiked salaries since they have been playing much more frequently. If the need arises, senior players like us will also put in a request to the board to hike the contracts of women cricketers."

Contracted players by BCCI for Indian Mens team in 2017-18:

A+ category (Rs 7 crore each): Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah.

A category (Rs 5 crore each): MS Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane and Wridhhiman Saha.

B category (Rs 3 crore each): KL Rahul, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma and Dinesh Karthik.

C category (Rs 1 crore each): Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Karun Nair, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel and Jayant Yadav.

Contracted players by BCCI for Indian Womens team in 2017-18:

Grade A (Rs 50 lakh each): Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana

Grade B (Rs 30 lakh each): Poonam Yadav, Veda Krishnamurthy, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Ekta Bisht, Shikha Pandey and Deepti Sharma

Grade C (Rs 10 lakh each): Mansi Joshi, Anuja Patil, Mona Meshram, Nuzhat Parveen, Sushma Verma, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Pooja Vastrakar and Taniya Bhatia


By Saurabh Malhotra - 11 Mar, 2018

    Share Via