Mayank Agarwal beats Sachin Tendulkar’s 15-year long List A record as Karnataka won the Vijay Hazare Trophy

Mayank Agarwal became the first Indian batsman to score over 700 runs in a List A tournament.

Mayank Agarwal | BCCI

Mayank Agarwal ended his dream run in the Vijay Hazare Trophy on a positive note as Karnataka beat Saurashtra in the final by 41 runs on Tuesday (February 27). Agarwal made 90 off 79 balls, including 11 boundaries and 3 sixes, in the all-important final to take his runs tally to 723 runs in the prestigious 50-over tournament.

The 27-year-old Mayank amassed the scores of 109, 84, 28, 102, 89, 140, 81 and 90 in the Vijay Hazare Trophy and in the process he also became the first Indian batsman to score over 700 runs in a List A tournament. Agarwal broke the record of legendary Sachin Tendulkar, who had aggregated 673 runs in 2003 Cricket World Cup.

During the course of his 81-run knock against Maharashtra in semi-final at Ferozeshah Kotla, Delhi, Mayank created history by becoming the highest run-maker in a single season of Vijay Hazare Trophy, surpassing Dinesh Karthik’s record of 607 runs.

Ahead of the final against Saurashtra, Karnataka coach Sashikant hailed Mayank's mental toughness saying that not being picked in the national T20I team won’t affect the batsman too much.

“He (Mayank) is mentally very tough and I don’t think the non-selection will affect his confidence too much. Personally, I believe he missed the bus by a whisker and sooner than later, he will get his chance in the Indian team,” Sashikant said according to Times Now on the eve of the finals.

Prior to the Vijay Hazare Trophy, Agarwal has also grabbed headlines for scoring 1160 runs from eight matches in Ranji Trophy 2017-18. He finished the Ranji season with an awe-inspiring average of 105.45.


By Salman Anjum - 27 Feb, 2018

    Share Via