Meg Lanning returns to Australia squad for India tour

Australia announced squad for ODI and T20I Tri-series in India.

Australia and England will play T20I Tri-series in India next month | Getty Images

Australian opener –Meg Lanning has returned to the national squad for the upcoming India series next month as the Australian selectors announced both T20 International Tri-series and One Day Internationals squads on Wednesday. Lanning, who was out of action since the World Cup 2018 semi-final –with a shoulder surgery, will also lead the national side in India while Rachael Haynes has been named the vice-captain after the retirement of Alex Blackwell.

As per Cricbuzz, Australian Selector Shawn Flegler said, "Meg's rehab has been progressing well, she's back to her old self with the bat and with a few weeks until the first match, we're confident she'll be right to play when the times comes. Meg will resume the captaincy and we're extremely fortunate to have Rach as her deputy after doing a fantastic job as stand-in skipper during the Women's Ashes. She'll be a great sounding board for Meg and will continue to drive the standards of the team.”

Meanwhile, Australia will be without services of their experienced all-rounder Tahlia McGrath who is suffering a back problem, throughout India series. With Tahila’s injury, Australia called up uncapped all-rounders Sophie Molineux and Nicola Carey for the limited-overs’ series in India.

Flegler signed off by saying of McGrath, “It's unfortunate for Tahlia that she was unavailable for selection, she showed great skills and character during the Ashes and in domestic cricket so the focus for her now will be to get her body right with a view to the World T20.”

The One Dayers will begin with the first ODI at Vadodara International Cricket Stadium on 12 March followed by the second and the final ODI at the same venue on 15 and 18 March respectively. While the T20I Tri-series, featuring England as well, will start from 22 March in Mumbai.

Australia ODI squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicole Bolton, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Belinda Vakarewa, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Australia T20 squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Naomi Stalenberg, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington




By Rashmi Nanda - 21 Feb, 2018

    Share Via