Maharashtra Government felicitates Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane

Pravin Amre awarded Coach of the Year for the 2016-17 by the Government of Maharashtra.

Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane | Getty Images

Indian Test Vice-captain –Ajinkya Rahane and Opener –Rohit Sharma have been awarded Shiv Chhatrapati State Sports Awards by the Government of Maharashtra on 17 February.

However, Rohit Sharma could not attend the awards ceremony held in Mumbai on 17 February (Saturday) as he is with India Team for T20 International series in South Africa, while Rahne returned India after Test and One Day International series.  

Rahane attended the felicitation ceremony, where the winners received a trophy, a certificate and a cash prize of Rs 3 lakh from the State Government of Maharashtra in Mumbai.

Meanwhile, Rahane has been honored for his performances for the national team for the 2016-17 season, while Sharma, who captained India in their recent ODI and T20 series wins over Sri Lanka at home, has been awarded for his exploits in the 2015-16 season.

Beside Rahane and Rohit, former India cricketer and assistant coach of Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Delhi Daredevils –Pravin Amre was awarded Coach of the Year for the 2016-17. Even Rahane went on social media to thank the Maharashtra Government for honoring him.

Amre recently stepped down from the managing committee of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) to join the Delhi Daredevils (DD) camp as Head of Talent for DD.

Pravin Amre | TOI

Other winners for the calendar year 2016-17 are –Lalita Babar and Sanjivani Jadhav (Athletics), Riyaz Akbar Ali and Prashanth More (Carrom), Abhimanyu Puranik and Aakanksha Hagawane (Chess), Purav Raja (Tennis), Devinder Walmiki (Hockey) and Dattu Baban Bhokanal (Rowing)





By Rashmi Nanda - 20 Feb, 2018

    Share Via