Steve Smith, Mohammad Amir, Fakhar Zaman and Heather Knight among big winners of ESPNCricinfo Awards 2017

Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Harmanpreet Kaur were the three Indians to win the awards.

Steve Smith won Test batting performance of the year for 109 against India in Pune | Reuters

Many cricketing superstars from both men’s and women’s game were honored with the ESPNCricinfo Awards for 2017 under various categories. Steve Smith, Nathan Lyon, Heather Knight, Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Amir were amongst the winners for their individual performances.

Steve Smith won the best Test batting performance of the year, for his 109 on the treacherous Pune pitch against India, which won Australia the Test. He beat out his own 141* at GABBA against England and Shai Hope’s match-winning century at Headingley.

Nathan Lyon’s 8/50 against India in the Bengaluru Test won him the best Test bowling performance award, beating R Ashwin’s 6/41 in the same Test.

Heather Knight won the captain of the year for leading England to WWC 2017 win | Getty

Heather Knight won the Captain of the Year Award for leading the England women’s team to the 2017 Women’s World Cup triumph. She beat out Smith, Virat Kohli and Sarfraz Ahmed in the category and this was the first time women cricketers were nominated in this category.

Pakistan’s Mohammad Amir’s 3/16 and Fakhar Zaman’s 114* against India in the finals of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy won the ODI bowling performance and ODI batting performance of the year awards respectively. Zaman beat out Rohit Sharma’s third career ODI double hundred; while Amir beat out Rashid Khan’s 7/18 against West Indies.

Fakhar Zaman

Rashid Khan, however, won the Associate bowling performance of the year for that 7 for 18.

The T20I batting performance of the year award went to Evin Lewis for his 125*, the highest individual score in a chase, against India in Kingston. Yuzvendra Chahal won the T20I bowling performance of the year for his 6/25 against England in Bengaluru.

Kuldeep Yadav won the Debutant of the Year award, with 43 international wickets at 22.18 at the year-end.

Kyle Coetzer won the Associate batting award for his century in Scotland’s ODI win over Zimbabwe, their first over a full member nation.

Harmanpreet Kaur won the women’s ODI batting performance of the year award for her 171* against Australia in the WWC 2017 semi-finals; while Anya Shrubsole won the Bowling performance of the year award for her 6/46 against India in the finals of the tournament.

Mitchell Johnson, Sachin Tendulkar and Lasith Malinga (three awards apiece), and Dale Steyn, Virender Sehwag, Shahid Afridi, Stuart Broad and Virat Kohli (two each) are the most prestigious winners of the awards previously.



By Jatin Sharma - 19 Feb, 2018

    Share Via