ESPNCricinfo awards see Harmanpreet Kaur, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav win big honors

India claimed the maximum number of trophies at the ESPNCricinfo Awards.

Harmanpreet Kaur's 171* against Australia in WWC 2017 SF won India the match | Getty

The ESPNCricinfo Awards felicitated Indian T20I women team captain Harmanpreet Kaur and Indian men’s team spin twins Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal in their respective categories.

Harmanpreet Kaur won the women’s batting performance of the year honor, for her scintillating 171* against Australia in the semi-finals of ICC Women’s World Cup in England. Her innings was one of the most memorable ones not only on the tournament, but in the history of women’s ODI cricket, as she singlehandedly put India in the finals of the tournament.

Indian players were picked for three out of the 12 awards on offer, the most by any nation in the ESPNCricinfo Awards.

Yuzvendra Chahal has the best bowling figures by an Indian bowler in T20Is - 6/25 vs England | IANS

Yuzvendra Chahal won the T20 bowling performance of the year award, for his amazing 6/25 against England in the third T20I in Bengaluru in 2017. Chahal became the first Indian bowler to pick a five wicket haul and only the second bowler to pick up a six wicket haul in T20Is and since then has gone onto greater heights in limited overs format for India.

This is the second consecutive year that ESPNCricinfo has had awards for batting and bowling in women’s cricket across all three international formats.

The third Indian to win an award was Kuldeep Yadav, who had made an amazing impact since his Test debut against Australia in the Dharamshala Test in 2017. He picked up 4 wickets in the first innings and setup India’s Test and series win.

Kuldeep Yadav on his Test debut against Australia in Dharamshala | AFP

Kuldeep was awarded the debutant of the year for his 43 wickets across three formats in 2017.

The winners were selected by an 18-member independent jury, including former cricket giants such as Ian Chappell, Ramiz Raja, Courtney Walsh, Mark Butcher, Daryll Cullinan, Russel Arnold, and former umpire Simon Taufel among others.


By Jatin Sharma - 19 Feb, 2018

    Share Via