BAN vs SL 2018: Bangladesh call up uncapped Nazmul Islam to replace injured Shakib Al Hasan

Shakib Al Hasan is set to miss the first T20I against Sri Lanka.

 Shakib Al Hasan | Getty Images

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) confirmed on Tuesday that the left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam has been replaced for the injured all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan for the first T20 International of the two-match series against Sri Lanka, starting on 15 February at Mirpur Stadium.

The Twenty20 captain –Shakib, who earlier was ruled out of the  Test series with Sri Lanka with injury, failed to adequately recover in-time from a finger injury that he sustained during the ODI series.

In the absence of regular skipper, Mahmudullah will lead Bangladesh in the series opener.

The uncapped left-arm spinner Nazmul has been called up for the match due to his good show in the last edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). The final T20I will be played in Sylhet on February 18.

Meanwhile, while he is nursing his recent injury, Shakib is eyeing to make a comeback in the Nidahas Trophy , a tri nation T20 tournament featuring India and Sri Lanka. 

Each team will play against one another two times before the top two sides lock horns in the finals. Nidahas Trophy was last played about 20 years ago. The trophy marks the celebration of the Sri Lankan independence. The 2018 edition of the series will mark the 70 years of celebration of the Sri Lankan independence.

It is worth noting that the last time these three sides had clashed in a T20I competition, it was in the ICC World T20 in India in 2016. The Indian side was the most successful among the three in the tournament as they had ended up as the semi-finalists. Prior to that, these three sides had also participated in the Asia Cup 2016.

Going by the current form of the three sides, one would expect Virat Kohli’s men to emerge out victorious in the tri-series in March. Having said that, one can never rule out Sri Lankaand Bangladesh.

Here are the complete fixtures of the Nidahas Trophy 2018:

March 6, 2018 – India vs Sri Lanka
March 8, 2018 – India vs Bangladesh
March 10, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh
March 12, 2018 – India vs Sri Lanka
March 14, 2018 – India vs Bangladesh
March 16, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh
March 18, 2018 – Final


By Rashmi Nanda - 14 Feb, 2018

    Share Via