David Warner named ODI player of the year at Allan Border medal ceremony

David Warner fetched 6 votes more than Steve Smith to clinch the award.

David Warner | PTI

Australian  vice-captain David Warner has won the ODI player of the year award at the 2018 Allan Border Medal ceremony on Monday (February 12) in Melbourne. Warner has secured this award for the second consecutive year, despite Australia’s constant struggle in the one-day internationals lately.

The southpaw fetched 24 votes to win the award by a margin of six from skipper Steve Smith and all-rounder Marcus Stoinis.

During the voting period stretching from January 8 last year, Warner has aggregated 691 runs at an average of 57 in ODIs. It is worth mentioning here that the statistics of Australia’s disastrous 5-match ODI series against England didn’t include, wherein Warner had scored 73 runs averaging less than 15.

The left-handed opener scored three of the eight centuries by Australians in that period. His career-best 179 at the Adelaide Oval came against Pakistan during the same period. Moreover, Warner has also scored 245 runs at an average of 49 in Australia’s 5-match ODI series against Virat Kohli’s troops in India.  

As far as Warner’s overall ODI numbers are concerned – the Aussie vice-captain has amassed 4343 ODI runs in 106 matches, including 14 tons and 17 fifties.

ODI Player of the Year Votes (source: www.cricket.com.au):

David Warner - 24 votes

Steve Smith - 18

Marcus Stoinis - 18

Travis Head - 17

Aaron Finch - 14


By Salman Anjum - 12 Feb, 2018

    Share Via