Steve Smith wins Test player of the year award on Allan Border medal night

Steve Smith was named the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year last month.

Smith averages above 60 in Test cricket | Getty

Australia skipper Steve Smith has won the Test player of the year award at the 2018 Allan Border Medal ceremony on Monday (February 12) in Melbourne. Smith pipped the ace spinner Nathan Lyon by only six votes to secure the award.

Just a month ago, Smith had been crowned with the ICC Test player of the year and now he joins the elite list of former skippers Michael Clarke (four times) and Ricky Ponting (three) who have won the Test player of the year award during the Allan Border Medal night on multiple occasions. During that time, Smith was the most productive batter in Test cricket with 1305 runs at an extraordinary average of 81.56 with six centuries from his 19 innings (three of them unbeaten).

It is due recognition of Smith’s dominance in the 5-day game during the voting period stretching from Australia’s tour of India 2017 to the recently held Ashes series Down Under. During that time, Smith has amassed 1305 runs at an awe-inspiring average of 81.56 with six centuries.

The Australian captain has proved his mettle in the tough subcontinental conditions as well, scoring 499 runs at an average of 71.28 in last year's Border-Gavaskar Trophy. The 28-year-old Smith has aggregated 687 runs in 7 innings at an incredible average of 137.40, including three centuries and two fifties during the recently concluded Ashes series.

The New South Wales-born Smith is the only batsman in contemporary cricket to average over 60 in Test cricket. His batting average of 63.75 is second only to Bradman in terms of batsmen with at least 20 Test innings. As far as Smith’s overall Test numbers are concerned – the Australian captain has amassed 6057 Test runs in 60 matches, including 23 tons and as many fifties.



By Salman Anjum - 12 Feb, 2018

    Share Via