BAN vs SL 2018: Bangladesh invest in youth for SL T20I series.

Ariful Haque all set to make his international debut for Bangladesh with Sri Lanka T20I series at home.

Tamim Iqbal will bring experience to the side.  Getty Images

Bangladesh has been announced a fresh 15-member squad on Saturday for the upcoming two-match Twenty20 International series against Sri Lanka at home.

The Tigers decided to put some fresh faces on the board after their 1-0 defeat in the two-match Test series at the home at the hands of the same oppositions –Islanders.

The T20I series will start with the first match at The Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on 15 February 2018, and the hosts would definitely like to save their pride by putting g some brilliant show with young brigade. The second T20I is slated to be played on 18 February Sylhet Stadium.

There are total seven players from the South Africa series who failed to make it to the T20I squad namely Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan, Shafiul Islam, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain and Taskin Ahmed.

Bangladesh selectors went on to pick young guns likes of Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan and Afif Hossain for the Lanka T20 series.

Chief selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz, “We want to see the ability of some of our potentials during the T20 series. We are still to become a force in T20 format so we are trying to see how we can get the service of these youngsters who were performing well in domestic cricket.”

Bangladesh have a lot of expectations from the 25-year-old Ariful, who was the third-highest run-getter for Khulna Titans in the Bangladesh Premier League 2017.

Minhajul signed off by saying, “He is a future prospect and we are in desperately looking for someone who can play range of strokes coming to bat at seven. Every other team have players in this position who have the ability to turn the fortune of the game in very short time. We feel he [Ariful] has such ability with what we have seen so far.”

Bangladesh Squad:

Shakib Al Hasan (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain.

By Rashmi Nanda - 10 Feb, 2018

    Share Via