Saurashtra announce star-studded squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018

Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara will play Vijay Hazare Trophy for Saurashtra.

Jaydev Unadkat will lead the Saurashtra side in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 | PTI

Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) on Friday announced their  16-man star-studded squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 starting from February 5. 

In the 16th season of the List A One Day tournament, there will be the total number of 91 matches will be played during the course of the tournament with the final scheduled to be played on 26th February.

The Saurashtra selectors named a strong squad for the tournament, featuring the likes of Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara –Test specialists from the Indian team who have returned back after the conclusion of the Test series. 

Jaydev Unadkat, who cracked the mind-blogging deal in the IPL 2018 auction with Rajasthan Royals for INR 11.50 crores, will lead the Saurashtra side in the tournament, while they will play their all Vijay Hazare games in Secunderabad (Hyderabad).

For Unadkat who will be leading his state team, this will present him with a chance to perform well and present his case for a comeback in the Indian team. Lack of left-arm fast bowlers is a worry for the management and Unadkat who has been with the team for a few tours can certainly fill the space. 

Saurashtra Squad:

Jaydev Shah (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Arpit Vasavada, Sheldon Jackson, Himalaya Barad, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Ravindra Jadeja, Chirag Jani, Kamlesh Makvana, Prerak Mankad, Hardik Rathod, Shaurya Sanandia, Jaydev Unadkat, Robin Uthappa, Samarth Vyas.


By Rashmi Nanda - 03 Feb, 2018

    Share Via