Harbhajan Singh will lead Punjab in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Yuvraj Singh will be the vice-captain of the team.

Harbhajan Singh | GETTY

Punjab team will be led by veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 50-over tournament. It will be played at Alur in Karnataka from February 7 to 16, a Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) spokesman said on Friday.

Left-handed batsman Yuvraj Singh will be the vice-captain of the team. The team was picked by PCA's senior selection committee under the chairmanship of former cricketer Yashpal Sharma.

Punjab will play their first league match against Haryana on February 7 in the upcoming senior men's one-day Vijay Hazare Trophy Group-A All India league.

Tamil Nadu have won the trophy 5 times. Jharkhand won the trophy in 2011, beating Gujarat in the finals at Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore. Bengal won it on 2011-12.

Tamil Nadu are the current champions of the trophy in 2016-17 who won their 5th title beating Bengal in the finals.

Punjab's squad team for the Vijay Hazare Trophy: Harbhajan Singh (Captain), Yuvraj Singh (Vice-Captain), Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Abhishek Gupta, Gitansh Khera, Siddharth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma, Abhishek Sharma, Shubman Gill, Manpreet Singh Grewal, Barinder Singh Sran, Mayank Markande and Sharad Lumba.


By Sihyeu Singh - 03 Feb, 2018

    Share Via