ICC U19 World Cup 2018: Final Preview- India and Australia look for 4th title

India has been unbeaten in the tournament leading upto the final.

Prithvi Shaw and Jason Shah with the trophy | Getty

Saturday will be the biggest day for the U19 stars of both Indian and Australian teams, as both will face one another in the finals of the ICC U19 World Cup 2018.

Australia have just faltered in their first match against India. The match will be the Indian batting and bowling going against a spirited Australian batting and spin attack. 

Indian batting in Prithvi Shaw and Shubman Gill has gained prominence as the tournament went on. They have been supported well by Manjot Kalra and Riyan Parag. 

Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi and Ishan Porel have made the cricket world sit up and take notice. Spinners Anukul Roy and Abhishek Sharma have been at their best in the middle overs and have dominated the opposition. 

Prithvi Shaw and India U19 coach Rahul Dravid | Getty

Australia on the other hand, depend on captain Jason Sangha and Jack Edwards, who have everyone impressed by their batting. Only bowler to make headlines from Australia was Lloyd Pope, whose 8/35 against rivals England was the highlight performance of the tournament.

Though India seems to have an upper hand in the match up, if the Australians step up on their day and bowlers manage to take wickets at the top, Indian lower order hasn't been tested much barring their match with Pakistan. 

They reached the finals of the world cup last time, but fell short in front of a spirited West Indian team. But this time, they are on a winning ride and will want to continue it with a Championship win.

The match will be one to lookout for and whoever wins the final, will create history as the 4th time winner of the tournament.


INDIA: Prithvi Shaw (c), Manjot Kalra, Shubman Gill, Harvik Desai(w), Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, Anukul Roy, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Shiva Singh, Ishan Porel, Himanshu Rana, Aryan Juyal, Arshdeep Singh, Pankaj Yadav, Aditya Thakare

AUSTRALIA: Jack Edwards, Max Bryant, Jason Sangha(c), Jonathan Merlo, Param Uppal, Nathan McSweeney, Will Sutherland, Baxter J Holt(w), Zak Evans, Ryan Hadley, Lloyd Pope, Xavier Bartlett, Jarrod Freeman, Aaron Hardie, Austin Waugh


By Jatin Sharma - 02 Feb, 2018

    Share Via