Prithvi Shaw named in Mumbai's squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018

Prithvi Shaw was picked up by Delhi Daredevils for a whopping Rs 1.2 crore.

India U19 skipper Prithvi Shaw during warm-up in New Zealand | Getty Images

Young batting sensation –Prithvi Shaw, who is currently leading India U19 Team in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2018 in New Zealand, has been named in Mumbai’s 16-man squad for the Vijay Hazare Trophy –an inter-state One-Day International tournament, starting from 5 February.

The 18-year-old opener, who secured a jaw-dropping Rs 1.2 crore IPL 2018 contract with Delhi Daredevils (DD), has amassed 191 runs with two half-centuries so far in the ongoing World Cup –the second highest run-getter after Shubman Gill ( 239 runs) for India.

Under the inspirational captaincy of Shaw, India’s dominance in the tournament is praiseworthy as they are all set to play Australia in the title clash on 3 February.

On Tuesday, the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) announced the squad which will be led by wicket-keeper batsman Aditya Tare.

Besides Shaw, Jay Bista, Mumbai's 'go to' man Siddhesh Lad, Surya Kumar Yadav and Akhil Herwadkar, Dhawal Kulkarni, who has been named as the vice-captain, Akash Parkar, are also in the Mumbai squad for the 16th season of the tournament.

Mumbai would be definitely keen to make a mark in the Vijay Hazare trophy after failing to win the Ranji Trophy, where they finished as runners-up.Mumbai will start their Vijay Hazare trophy campaign against Madhya Pradesh on February 5.

Squad: Aditya Tare (captain), Dhawal Kulkarni (vice captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Akhil Herwadkar, Jay Bista, Shivam Dube, Shashank Singh, Eknath Kerkar, Aakash Parkar, Dhrumil Matkar, Royston Dias, Shams Mulani, Shubham Ranjane, Shivam Malhotra and Prithvi Shaw


By Rashmi Nanda - 01 Feb, 2018

    Share Via