Watch: Steve Smith denies allegation of ball tampering

Smith also questioned his controversial dismissal in 3rd ODI against England.

Steve Smith | GETTY

Australia skipper Steve Smith almost found himself in trouble after a video of him applying lip-balm on the ball circulated on the internet. Smith opened up about the issue and said, “There’s nothing in it" in the press conference.

“People said something about lip balm but if you look at my lips they’re pretty dry, I certainly didn’t have any of that on. It’s just the way I get some spit into the side of my mouth and on to the ball," he added.

While he denied the allegation of ball tampering, Smith talked about another controversy. In Australia's 16-run defeat at SCG, the Australia skipper was given out after a disputed catch by Jos Buttler. 

Smith remained unmoved while the on-field umpires asked Kumar Dharmasena to check if the ball hit the ground but with replays inconclusive, the so-called ‘soft signal’ was upheld.

“It’s irrelevant what I think, I got given out and had to walk off the field, but I’m not sure I’m a big fan of the ruling with the soft signal,” he said.

“It’s hard to overturn anything. If the fielder goes up and celebrates it usually gets given out. If you’re a bit apprehensive it’s usually not out.

“I’d like the third umpire to actually make the decision whether it’s out or not out.”

Australia were fined after match referee Ranjan Madugalle deemed Smith’s side to be two overs short in their allotted timeframe.

 


By Sihyeu Prakash Singh - 22 Jan, 2018

    Share Via