PM Narendra Modi’s heartfelt message for World Cup winning ‘Indian Blind Cricket Team’

India defeated arch-rivals Pakistan in a thriller by two wickets to lift the trophy.

Indian blind cricket team with the World Cup | Twitter

India’s visually impaired cricket team led by Ajay Reddy lift their second successive Blind Cricket World Cup title on Saturday (January 20) by beating arch-rivals Pakistan in a thrilling final by two wickets. Team India remained unbeaten throughout their successful campaign.

Pakistan blind cricket team scored 308 for 8 in their allotted 40 overs with Badar Munir (57) being the highest scorer. Skipper Nisar Ali also contributed with a valuable 47 while Riasat Khan made a quickie 48.

Chasing the stiff target, India’s Sunil Ramesh scored a well composed 93 while skipper Ajay Reddy made 63 as the defending champions overhauled the total with more than one over to spare. India had also defeated Pakistan by seven wickets in the group stage.

Following the special triumph, India’s honourable Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to micro-blogging site Twitter to lead the congratulatory messages.

“Congratulations to our cricket team for winning the 2018 Blind Cricket World Cup! They make the nation proud and inspire every Indian with their game as well as phenomenal attitude. True champions!” PM Modi wrote in his tweet.

Besides the Prime Minister, India Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu also passed on his heartfelt message through Twitter.

Indian cricket fraternity also lauded the blind cricket team as the likes of VVS Laxman, Mithali Raj and Harbhajan Singh complimented the team for this astonishing feat.




By Salman Anjum - 20 Jan, 2018

    Share Via