Bangladesh drop Imrul Kayes for the remainder of the Tri-series

Shakib Al Hasan will now play at No.3 in the ongoing Tri-nation series at home.

Imrul Kayes | Getty Images

Bangladesh announced an updated squad on Friday, reducing their initial 16-man line-up to 15, for the remaining two matches of the ongoing Tri-nation series, involving Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

The hosts are in line for the two more matches –first against Zimbabwe on 21 Jan and the second one against Sri Lanka on 25 Jan after winning first two matches against the same opposition in the Tri-series.

Bangladesh are then scheduled to play two Tests and T20 Internationals against Sri Lanka, starting with the first Test at Chittagong on 31 January 2018.

Bangladesh have omitted Imrul Kayes from their initial squad and given No.3 spot to the star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan for the remaining matches of the series, and Chief selector Minhajul Abedin confirmed that Imrul has been sent to play in Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL), a franchise-based four-day competition, to keep him match-ready for Test series, where he will open the batting.

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Anamul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Mithun, Sunzamul Islam


By Rashmi Nanda - 20 Jan, 2018

    Share Via