India qualify for the Blind World Cup semi-final

India will now take on Bangladesh in the all-important semi-final on January 17.

File image of Indian blind cricket team | Getty

Ajay Reddy led Indian team continued their dominance in the ongoing Blind Cricket World Cup as they thrashed Nepal by eight wickets to enter into the semifinal.

On Sunday (January 14) at the Eden Garden Cricket Ground in Ajman United Arab Emirates, Nepal won the toss and decided to bat first. However, India’s spirited performance made sure Nepal could manage only 156 in 37.5 overs.

For defending champions India, Prakash Jayaramiah claimed two wickets conceding only 22 runs while Ajay Reddy, Rambir, Prem Kumar and Jafar Iqbal scalped a wicket each.

In replay, India chased down the target with utmost ease by losing just two wickets. Mehender contributed with 40 off 30 balls whereas Rambir played an instrumental innings of 38 in 23 balls.

Earlier, India had defeated Pakistan and Bangladesh by 7 and 10 wickets respectively. Ajay Reddy’s side will now take on Bangladesh in the all-important semi-final on January 17 at the Ajman Ovals.

On the other hand, Pakistan blind team made a stellar comeback to humiliate Australia by 393 runs. Aamir Ashfaq scored 208 as Pakistan went on to score a record total of 563/4 in 40 overs.

Sri Lanka blind team also scored a mammoth 494/5 in 40 overs against Nepal, eventually winning the tie by 350 runs. Dimithu scored 168 not out.

(With PTI inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 15 Jan, 2018

    Share Via