According to the Cricbuzz.com reports, Hyderabad captain Ambati Rayudu was involved in a big controversy and a mid pitch fight with his Karnataka counterpart R Vinay Kumar in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018.
The ugly incident took place because two runs were added to Karnataka’s total of 203, when they batted first. This was done because during the second over of the game, Mehdi Hasan, fielding at deep mid-wicket, touched the ropes with his foot while fielding the ball. The on-field umpires failed to check this, but the replays showed that fielder had stepped on the boundary ropes while in contact with the ball.
The two runs were added to the Karnataka total, before Hyderabad came out to bat in the second innings. This didn’t go down well with Hyderabad skipper Ambati Rayudu. This escalated when Hyderabad fell two runs short of the winning total- the same number of runs which were added to Karnataka's total - Rayudu and Co. did not leave the field and remained in the middle wanting "to start the Super Over" despite the official result signaling a win for Karnataka.
"There was some confusion in the middle at the start of our innings. What I went and told the umpire was 'sir you cannot change the score, we are batting for 204 as our target'. That is exactly what I told him and he said 'we'll see it at the end, let the match start. The match was stopped for nine minutes, before the second innings. They had no business to stop the match once the target was declared. Then, what we said was we were playing for 204, and that was my exact words," a disappointed Rayudu said after the game.
There was also some mid pitch altercation between Rayudu and Karnataka skipper R Vinay Kumar and this delayed the start of the second match on the ground. After a lengthy protest, the Hyderabad players left the field and the second match was curtailed to 13 overs per side affair.
Rayudu explained his actions by saying, “At the end, we went and asked to start the Super Over. That is exactly our point of contention. We never even thought of stopping the second match, that has got nothing to do with us. We were insisting that our match was not complete; we still have to play the Super Over. That is exactly why we went to the middle, we were actually going to warm up then.”
"I'm sure of the rules. If he had changed immediately then it would have been perfect. Even if somebody gets out and you come inside and see that it's not out, you don't call the person back. Even in case of a no-ball not correctly called, you cannot call somebody back or add the scores. I don't know what has happened but we were playing for 204. That is exactly what I wanted to tell and we were waiting for the Super Over which never happened," he added.
Meanwhile Karnataka claims that they informed the umpires of the fielding error immediately after the replays confirmed the incident. According to Cricbuzz, the third umpire, in turn, had relayed the information to the on-field umpires and it was decided that two runs would be added to Karnataka's total. However, it did not happen immediately after the incident due to some miscommunication between the on-field umpires and the scorers, and was only added before the start of the second innings. Karnataka also delayed the start of their bowling, until the two runs were added to their total.