NZ vs PAK 2018: Pakistan recall Ahmed Shehzad for T20I series

Pakistan has announced squad for their upcoming T20I series in New Zealand.

Kamran Akmal overlooked for New Zealand T20I series despite his recent stunning form with the bat | Getty Images

Pakistan announced  15-man squad on Wednesday for their upcoming three-match T20 International series in New Zealand, starting with the first T20I in Wellington on January 22.

The national selectors recalled Ahmed Shehzad due to his current form with the bat, but they ignored in-form Kamran Akmal for the T20I series against the Black Caps despite his stunning form in the domestic circuit. The 35-year-old was the highest run scorer in National Twenty20 with 432 runs in November 2017, as well as smashing a double ton in a domestic One-Day Cup match last week.

Meanwhile, Pakistan chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq also confirmed that the all-rounder Imad Wasim, who missed the ongoing One-Day International (ODI), will miss the T20s due to a knee injury as well.

As per AFP, Inzamam told reporters, “Wasim has yet to recover from his knee injury, and was told to continue his rehabilitation at the academy in Lahore. Sohaib Maqsood was not considered for selection due to a back injury and will undergo rehabilitation.”

At the moment, Pakistan went down 0-2 in the five-match ODI series against the hosts New Zealand, with the third ODI is scheduled to play in Dunedin on Saturday.

Pakistan Squad:

Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Harris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Rumman Raees, Umar Amin.

By Rashmi Nanda - 11 Jan, 2018

    Share Via