Ben Stokes picked in England T20 squad for triangular series

The tri-series comprising of England, Australia and New Zealand will start on February 3 in Sydney.

Ben Stokes Ben Stokes has been suspended after a video of his brawl outside a Bristol pub emerged | Reuters

Scandal-hit England all-rounder Ben Stokes was selected in England’s T20I team that will play a tri-series involving Australia and New Zealand from February 3. Just a week ago, Stokes was not picked in the English team for the five-match ODI series against Australia, starting on January 14.

The maverick all-rounder was arrested on suspicion of causing actual bodily harm in the infamous street brawl incident outside a nightclub at Bristol on September 25 last year.

Stokes name was withdrawn from England’s Ashes squad given the pending verdict of Crown Prosecution Service (CPS).

“Should the ECB Board receive formal confirmation that Stokes has either been charged or that he will face no charges, they would convene within 48 hours to make a decision on his availability for the team at that stage,” said an ECB statement.

Besides, the wicketkeeper batsman Jonny Bairstow and all-rounder Mooen Ali have been rested for the series considering their recent workload. Test skipper Joe Root and Middlesex batsman Dawid Malan were also included in the 16-member squad.

Limited-overs specialists James Vince and Sam Billings brought back into the squad after missing England’s last Twenty20 series against West Indies in September.

Eoin Morgan will lead the England team that will play their first match in the tri-series against Australia on February 7 at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

England T2I Squad for Tri-Series:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.


Feb 03, Australia vs New Zealand, 1st Match, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Feb 07, Australia vs England, 2nd Match, Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Feb 10, Australia vs England, 3rd Match, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Feb 13, New Zealand vs England, 4th Match, Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Feb 16, New Zealand vs Australia, 5th Match, Eden Park, Auckland

Feb 18, New Zealand vs England, 6th Match, Seddon Park, Hamilton

Feb 21, TBC vs TBC, Final, Eden Park, Auckland


By Salman Anjum - 08 Jan, 2018

    Share Via