BCB announce squad for home season

BCB is yet to announce a coach after Haturasinghe.

Bangladesh will play a handful of criccket to start the new year. (Getty)

The Bangladesh Cricket Board on Saturday announced a 32-member primary squad for the upcoming tri-series, involving Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka, followed by a Test series against Sri Lanka. The preparations are set to begin from December 27. It will be the beginning of a new era as Bangladesh will be without Chandika Hathurusingha.

Bangladesh have put up an improved show at home in recent times, especially in limited-overs, but their performances abroad still leaves a lot of room for improvement.

In a recent interview with Cricbuzz, Chief selector Minhajul Abedin said that that they are aware of the expectations and feels confident that the players have the potential to do well.

"We decided to include all possible options available to us for the upcoming home series," Minhajul said about the primary squad size.

"It will be challenging for us as we have to meet up the expectations of the home crowd while the duration will also have some kind of impact considering they have played non-stop cricket for quite some time in the recent past," he said.

"So we need to keep all the alternatives ready, not only so that they can fill the gap if required but also because they can put some pressure on the current player as well."

"It is true we could not include some players who were performing regularly in the domestic circuit (in the past) as there was hardly any place for them against the proven performers. But we decided to come out of this theory," said Minhajul.

"We are not ready to make too many changes but at the same time we are not prepared to create an atmosphere that can make some of our cricketers take everything for granted”, the BCB chief selector concluded.

Primary Squad: 

Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Anamul Haque, Nazmul Islam Apu, Mominul Haque, Sadman Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarkar, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shafiul Islam, Abu Haidar, Abu Jahed, Subashis Roy, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan, Kamrul Islam, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam Shanto, Sunzamul Islam, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin


By Anshuman Roy - 24 Dec, 2017

    Share Via