Ellyse Perry wins ICC Cricketer of the Year award

Perry edged Harmanpreet Kaur to win the voting race.

Ellyse Perry | Twitter

Australian women cricketer Ellyse Perry has been nominated as the ICC Cricketer of the year. She was awarded the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award as the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year for her all round contribution with both bat and ball.

Perry created headlines around the world when she scored a double-century – her first ton in any international format – during the first Ashes Day-Night Test at North Sydney Oval last month, plundering an undefeated 213.

Perry has been phenomenal in the ODI format as well last year scoring 905 runs and taking 22 wickets in 19 games.  The voting period for the awards was since games after September 21, 2016. Perry in the meantime has helped Australia win series over South Africa, England and Australia. She also played a key role in helping the Souter Stars. retain the Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes against England last month.

Perry finished first in the voting ahead of New Zealand's Amy Satterthwaite and India's Harmanpreet Kaur.She's the third Australian woman to take out the honour behind Karen Rolton (2006) and Shelley Nitschke (2010).

“This year has been a very special year for women’s cricket with many milestones reached, so it is a privilege and honour to receive the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award," Perry said in a statement.

“A special thanks to Cricket Australia for the incredible amount of support they provide to the Australian Women’s Cricket Team and the way in which they continue to lead the development of women’s sport in Australia.Also, my teammates and our support staff, thanks so much for making it so enjoyable and memorable to tour and represent Australia” added Perry.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive James Sutherland congratulated the award winners. 

“This is an outstanding recognition for Ellyse. In her 10th season representing Australia, it comes as no surprise that someone with the qualities that Ellyse possesses has received the award in Rachael’s honour.

“Like Ellyse, Beth has also excelled at different times throughout the past 12 months, more recently during the Women’s Ashes, and is a deserved winner of her award.”

The ICC men's awards will be announced in January.

By Anshuman Roy - 21 Dec, 2017

    Share Via