IND vs SL 2017: MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma may accomplish special milestones in Cuttack T20I

Dhoni needs 2 more stumpings to overtake AB de Villiers.

MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma are on the cusp of special milestones | Getty

After a demoralizing loss in the ODI series opener against Sri Lanka in Dharamsala, India bounced back emphatically in the second ODI at Mohali to register a thumping 141-run victory at the back of stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma’s record-extending third ODI double century. Likewise, the Men in Blue routed the visitors by 8 wickets in the series decider ODI in Visakhapatnam.

After securing the Test and ODI series against Sri Lanka, Team India now have a chance to complete the series win across all three formats by claiming the Twenty-20 international series. The opening T20I of the series will be played at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack on Wednesday (December 20) and this particular match could witness a couple of special milestones from stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma and former skipper MS Dhoni.

India’s legendary wicket-keeper batsman MS Dhoni may not give the impression of chasing a milestone. However, he is on the cusp of one going into the first T20I at Cuttack. Dhoni is just two short of recording the most number of dismissals as a glovesman in the shortest format of the game. The Jharkhand man currently boasts 70 dismissals (45 catches, 25 stumpings) and the world record is currently held by Proteas AB de Villiers, who has 72 (65 catches and 7 stumpings) dismissals to his name.

Similarly, Rohit is on the verge of becoming the second Indian batsman after Virat Kohli to complete 1500 runs in T20 Internationals. The stand-in Indian captain, who recently took the world cricket by storm with his record-extending third double ton in ODI cricket, is just 15 runs short of reaching that significant mark.

Following the Cuttack T20I, Indore and Mumbai will host the second and third matches on December 22 and 24 respectively.

India T20I Squad:

Rohit Sharma(c), Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat

Sri Lanka T20I Squad:

Thisara Perera(c), Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Asela Gunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Chaturanga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando


By Salman Anjum - 20 Dec, 2017

    Share Via