Steve Smith leaves MS Dhoni behind to become the most successful captain in IPL history

MS Dhoni lies in the 5th place behind the likes of Rohit Sharma and Sachin Tendulkar.

Steve Smith led RPS to finals of IPL 2017; while MS Dhoni led RPS finished near bottom of IPL 2016

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been generating lots of buzz after the dates of the mega auctions were announced recently.

Now the focus will be on the player retentions as January 4 is the deadline for the franchises to submit the list of players they want to retain. With the new season of IPL just months away, some interesting numbers have been popping up with statisticians working overtime.

One such stat has revealed that MS Dhoni, who has won 2 IPL titles as captain of Chennai Super Kings, is interestingly not the most successful captain in the league’s history. The title of the most successful captain in IPL history has gone to Steve Smith, who has led Rajasthan Royals and Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) in the league.

Rohit Sharma and Sachin Tendulkar are ahead of MS Dhoni in most successful IPL captain's list

MS Dhoni and Steve Smith were part of the RPS setup for two years. Smith replaced Dhoni as the captain of the team for the 2017 edition, after the team finished near bottom of the table under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

Smith led the RPS team to the finals of the tournament in 2017 and ended the franchise’s term in IPL on a high note.

Steve Smith has won 16 matches out of 24 matches as captain, giving him a winning percentage of 66.67%. MS Dhoni is fifth on the all-time list with 83 wins and 59 losses from a whopping 143 matches with a win rate of 58.04%.

Rohit Sharma with winning percentage of 60% and Sachin Tendulkar with winning percentage of 58.82% stand before MS Dhoni in the list of most successful captains in IPL.


By Jatin Sharma - 20 Dec, 2017

    Share Via