Aggression factor took Delhi to the Ranji final, reckons Manoj Prabhakar

Delhi beat Bengal by an innings and 26 runs in the first semi-final in Pune.

Navdeep Saini dismissed seven Bengal batsmen in the match (Pic. source: Indian Express)

Delhi’s bowling coach and former India pacer Manoj Prabhakar is quite ecstatic after his team’s clinical showing in the Ranji Trophy semi-final against Bengal. Delhi team led by Rishabh Pant annihilated Bengal by an innings and 26 runs at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune on Tuesday (December 19).

In the second innings, Delhi’s pace duo Navdeep Saini and Kulwant Khejroliya wreaked havoc on Bengal batters with 4-wicket each as the Manoj Tiwary led side got bundled out for 86. Moreover, Saini and Khejroliya also scalped 5-wicket collectively in the first innings.

Seeing the way Delhi pacers have up their game in the all-important semi-final, Prabhakar has said that aggression is the biggest factor behind the seven-time champions’ impressive show.

“The main thing is aggression. That is what we decided on. We knew there were no big names in the Bengal line-up. When you have pace and bounce on the wicket, just bang it in. I told them, ‘When Shami can do it, why can’t you? He is 30, you are 22’”, Prabhakar was quoted by Hindustan Times as saying.

Delhi selector Atul Wassan was also on cloud nine after this massive victory. Talking about the planning going into the game, Wassan told Hindustan Times, “There is a tact to bowl in domestic cricket. We worked on it. Like you have to stick to the length and come close to the wickets.”

Delhi will play the final against the winner of ongoing Karnataka versus Vidarbha match. The 84th edition of Ranji Trophy final will be played at Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore from December 29 to January 2.

Brief scores:

Bengal 286 (Sudip Chatterjee 83; Navdeep Saini 3-55) and 86 (Sudip Chatterjee 21; Navdeep Saini 4-35, Kulwant Khejroliya 4-40) lost to Delhi 398 (Gautam Gambhir 127, Kunal Chandela 113; Mohammed Shami 6-122) by an innings and 26 runs.


By Salman Anjum - 20 Dec, 2017

    Share Via