IND v SL 2017: Did MS Dhoni just escape from getting penalized?

MS Dhoni was on the top of his game as a keeper during the match.

MS Dhoni | Hotstar

One who follows Indian cricket knows how MS Dhoni fools the batsman with his unorthodox wicket-keeping skills. The veteran cricketer has developed few of his own wicket-keeping tricks which works very well for him.

But his trick in second ODI at Mohali could have gifted 5 penalty runs to Sri Lankan team.

During the Lankan innings, while Mathews ran hard to complete the second run and cover his ground at the striker's end, Dhoni was posed to collect the ball but let it go at the last minute to let it hit the stumps. There was a need to call in the third umpire as there was a direct hit, but in all the confusion, it seems as if a new rule got broken.

As per fake fielding rule (Law 41.5 of the MCC), it deals with “deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of batsman”. Clause 41.5.1 states: it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball. This law has been applicable from October 1, 2017.

Not the first time we saw an action under scan for fake fielding. During India vs Sri Lanka Test series, Indian cricket team skipper Virat Kohli had raised his voice for a what seemed like a case of fake-fielding that was not penalized by the umpires on Day 3 of the first Test match at Kolkata.

On the fourth ball of the 53rd over during India’s first innings, Bhuvneshwar Kumar stroked a ball through the covers. As he attempted to come back for a second, Chandimal, slid even though he was nowhere close to the ball.

Here are the pictures:


By Sihyeu Prakash Singh - 14 Dec, 2017

    Share Via