Michael Hussey picks his all-time Chennai Super Kings XI

Michael Hussey was an integral part of CSK set up.

Michael Hussey with MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina | IANS

Former Australian cricketer Michael Hussey, who played for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in Indian Premier League (IPL) has picked his all-time CSK XI.

CSK fans are excited to welcome their much beloved IPL team after two years of suspension. The 'Men in Yellow' are back at their den, the MA Chidambaram Stadium. More good news for fans as CSK will be back with their 'thalaiva', MS Dhoni.

Recently, the IPL governing council announced that a franchise could retain up to five players by virtue of a combination of player retention (pre-player auction) and right to match (RTM) (during the player auction).

Hussey, while naming Dhoni in his team as the captain said "‘Captain Cool’ always calmly chased down a target and was brutal on the bowling at the back end of an innings. While Dhoni was at the crease we were always favorites to win the game."

Michael Hussey's team would give CSK fans an old feeling. Most of the players from the team were part of 'vintage' CSK team. There was a time when they had the most balanced side. They looked unbeatable on paper.

Dwayne Bravo, Matthew Hayden, Muttiah Muralitharan and Doug Bollinger are Hussey's four overseas players. He named Hayden over McCullum and said his former teammate has an intimidating figure. "It was a close call with Brendon McCullum but ‘Big Dos’ was an intimidating figure at the top of the order and was always very damaging in the first six overs," he said.

The former Aussie cricketer chose Suresh Raina for the most difficult batting position. Hussey thinks Raina is ideal for the no.3 spot. “No 3 can be a difficult position to bat in T20 but Suresh is one of the best in the world in that position," former CSK player said.

All-time CSK XI of 'Mr.Cricket'

Murali Vijay, Matthew Hayden, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (C & WK), Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Muttiah Muralitharan, Mohit Sharma and Doug Bollinger.


(With ChennaiSuperKings.com Input)


By Sihyeu Singh - 12 Dec, 2017

    Share Via