IND vs SL 2017: Rohit Sharma likes to lead from the front, says Yuzvendra Chahal

Rohit has led Mumbai Indians to 3 IPL titles.

Rohit will lead India in the absence of Kohli | Getty

The ‘Hitman’ of Indian cricket – Rohit Sharma is all set to take over the captaincy mettle from Virat Kohli in the forthcoming limited-overs series against Sri Lanka, starting on December 10 at Dharamsala. India’s regular skipper Kohli, who has been playing ceaselessly since the start of the year has been given a much-needed rest ahead of the all-important South Africa tour, slated to be commenced from January 5 at Newlands, Cape Town.

Looking at the prospect of playing under a new skipper, India leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has said that he is pretty much aware of Rohit Sharma’s game plan as a captain since he made his IPL debut under him for the Mumbai Indians back in 2013.

"I made my IPL debut in 2013 and played my first match in Mumbai Indians under Rohit. Just like Virat bhai, Rohit is also an aggressive captain and likes to lead from the front," Chahal told India TV.

"We cannot compare the two captains as both have their own style of leading the side but we are aware that they both are hungry for wins.

"Rohit has done a good job for the Mumbai Indian in the IPL and has led them to victory in the last edition of the IPL as well," he further added.

Team India are rejoicing their honeymoon period in the subcontinental conditions lately. Following the Sri Lanka series at home, Virat Kohli’s troops will head off to South Africa for their toughest challenge in recent times. The ‘Men in Blue’ are slated to play 3 Tests, 6 ODIs and 3 T20Is against the Proteas in a tour which will last just about 2 months.

"We have to be mentally strong to prepare to face a team like South Africa in their own backyard. But, I'm presently looking at the upcoming ODI series and T20I series versus Sri Lanka, we still have time for South Africa tour to think about," Chahal asserted.

India tour of South Africa itinerary:

January 5 – January 9, 1st Test – Newlands, Cape Town

January 13 – January 17, 2nd Test – SuperSport Park, Centurion

January 24 – January 28, 3rd Test – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

February 1, 1st ODI – Kingsmead, Durban

February 4, 2nd ODI – SuperSport Park, Centurion

February 7, 3rd ODI – Newlands, Cape Town

February 10, 4th ODI – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

February 13, 5th ODI – St George's Park, Port Elizabeth

February 16, 6th ODI – SuperSport Park, Centurion

February 18, 1st T20I – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

February 21, 2nd T20I – SuperSport Park, Centurion

February 24, 3rd T20I – Newlands, Cape Town


By Salman Anjum - 09 Dec, 2017

    Share Via