IND vs SL 2017: Dinesh Chandimal snubbed from ODI squad, Thisara Perera to lead

Chandimal registered his 10th Test ton during the third Test against India at Kotla.

Chandimal left out of Sri Lanka's ODI squad | Getty

Sri Lanka Cricket announced their 15-member ODI squad on Tuesday (December 5), which will take on the Indians in a three-match ODI series from December 10. Interestingly, the Lankan selectors have left out their Test skipper Dinesh Chandimal, who recorded his 10th Test ton (164) in the ongoing Test match at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi.

All-rounder Asela Gunaratne and opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka made a comeback to the side that has been going through a terrible time this year. Sri Lanka have won only 4 ODIs in 2017 as compared to 21 defeats.

Read | Dinesh Chandimal rates India Test series "Worst" of his career

Just a week ago, Thisara Perera was named as the captain of One Day International team in place of Upul Tharanga. Under Tharanga’s captaincy, Lankans have gone through three consecutive ODI whitewashes this year against major teams like South Africa, India and Pakistan.

Asela Gunaratne, who picked up an injury during the Galle Test against India earlier this year, also returned to the side and his presence in the late middle-order will certainly make the visitor’s batting line up stronger.

The first ODI will be played in Dharamsala on December 10 while Mohali and Visakhapatnam will host the second and third match on December 13 and 17 respectively.

Sri Lanka ODI Squad:

Thisara Perera (capt), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep


December 10, 1st ODI – Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala

December 13, 2nd ODI – Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

December 17, 3rd ODI – Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam

December 20, 1st T20I – Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

December 22, 2nd T20I – Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

December 24, 3rd T20I – Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai


By Salman Anjum - 05 Dec, 2017

    Share Via