IPL 2018: Sachin Tendulkar lauds CSK’s third IPL triumph, appreciates SRH’s quality team work

CSK defeated SRH by 8 wickets in the IPL 2018 final to secure their third IPL title.

Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad were the most consistent teams in IPL 2018

The 11th edition of Indian Premier League finally came to its conclusion on Sunday (May 27) with Chennai Super Kings lifting the trophy by beating Sunrisers Hyderabad in the summit clash.

While chasing the target of 179, CSK rode on Shane Watson’s exhilarating 117* off 57 balls to clinch the IPL 2018 final by 8 wickets. It was Chennai’s third IPL triumph under the legendary MS Dhoni and the first one since 2011.

After the historic IPL 2018 final, cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar lauded Chennai Super Kings for displaying quality cricket on the night of the final. The Master Blaster also hailed CSK as the most consistent side of the tournament.

“Well done, @ChennaiIPL. A great display of quality cricket. Certainly the most consistent side of the tournament. A special knock from @ShaneRWatson33 in a crucial game which saw them through. #CSKvSRH #IPL2018Final” Tendulkar wrote on his official Twitter page.

Sachin, who has tested the success of being an IPL champion and a runner-up in the past, also appreciated the Sunrisers Hyderabad players for playing some wonderful cricket throughout the campaign. The Kane Williamson led side has finished the league stage as the No.1 team, having won 9 of their 14 matches.

“Hard luck @SunRisers. You really played well, displayed quality team work and  thoroughly deserved to be in the finals. You can proudly hold your heads high” Sachin tweeted.

CSK skipper MS Dhoni had won the toss and invited SRH to bat first in the all-important IPL final. Hyderabad rode on their captain Williamson’s measured knock (47 runs off 36 balls) and Yusuf Pathan’s blazing cameo (45 runs off 25 balls) to put up 178/6 in 20 overs. Carlos Brathwaite also played a valuable innings of 21 runs in just 11 balls at the last juncture.

Chasing a stiff target in a big final, Watson made the mockery of SRH attack to guide CSK home with 9 balls to spare. After losing Faf du Plessis on 10, Watson along with Suresh Raina added 117 runs in just 57 balls for the second wicket to blow Hyderabad’s hopes.

Shane Watson completed the 4th century of his IPL career, as he became only the second batsman to score a hundred in an IPL Final. Ambati Rayudu added the finishing touch as CSK joined Mumbai Indians to become the only teams to win the title thrice.


By Salman Anjum - 28 May, 2018

    Share Via