IPL 2018: Here’s the list of award winners on IPL final night

CSK won the IPL 2018 by beating SRH in final.

Kane Williamson and Andrew Type won the IPL 2018 Orange Cap and Purple Cap respectively

The 11th edition of Indian Premier League finally came to an end with Chennai Super Kings clinching the title by beating Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final on Sunday (May 27). CSK defeated SRH by 8 wickets to secure the IPL 2018 trophy. It was Chennai’s third IPL triumph and the first one since 2011.

During the course of this 51-day long tournament, cricket fans witnessed 60 matches and a number of awe-inspiring performances from the elite cricketers. The likes of Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul dazzled the crowd with their willow in the league phase whereas Rashid Khan, Andrew Tye among others mesmerized the fans with their incredible bowling.

Carrying the trend of every IPL season, the deserving players were appreciated for their extraordinary performances on the night of the final.

Let’s have a look at the list of award winners on IPL 2018 final night:

Player of the IPL 2018 final – Shane Watson (Chennai Super Kings): Watson scored a breathtaking 117* off 57 balls in the night of the final to help CSK chase down Hyderabad's target of 179 with 9 balls to spare.

Pitch and ground award – Cricket Association of Bengal (For those grounds who've hosted seven matches or more)

Pitch and ground award – Punjab Cricket Association (For grounds who've hosted less than seven matches)

IPL 2018 fairplay award – The Mumbai Indians franchise led by Rohit Sharma won the fairplay award of IPL 2018 for playing the game in the right spirit.

Emerging player of the season – Rishabh Pant: Delhi Daredevils’ dazzling wicketkeeper batsman won this award for his jaw-dropping performances throughout the league stage. Pant finished the season as the second highest run-getter with 684 runs from 14 innings. The 20-year-old has scored a scintillating century and 5 fifties for Delhi in IPL 2018.

Perfect Catch of the Season – Trent Boult: Delhi’s ace pacer won this esteemed award for plucking a stunner to dismiss the RCB skipper Virat Kohli earlier in the season.

Super Striker of the Season – Sunil Narine: Kolkata Knight Riders’ entreating opener fetched this award for smashing the bowlers with his effortless strokes in IPL 2018.

Stylish Player of the Season – Rishabh Pant: It was the second award for Pant on the night of the final. The southpaw received this one for constantly pulling off the most audacious strokes throughout the campaign.

Orange Cap – Kane Williamson: SRH skipper bagged this award for being the highest run-getter in IPL 2018. Williamson finished the campaign with 735 runs from 17 innings, including 8 fifties. Besides his remarkable show with the willow, Kane has also done wonders for Hyderabad with his inspirational leadership.

Purple cap – Andrew Tye: The KXIP speedster won this award for being the highest taker in IPL 2018. Tye retained the purple cap by scalping 24 wickets from 14 matches despite Kings XI Punjab’s elimination from the cash-rich event after the league phase.

Most Valuable Player (MVP) of IPL 2018 – Sunil Narine: Certainly the most prestigious award of the night and KKR all-rounder Narine bagged it for his extraordinary all-round showing throughout the campaign. While Narine claimed 17 wickets from 16 matches for KKR in IPL 2018, he finished the season with 357 runs at an incredible strike-rate of 189.89. Thanks to his magnificent show with the bat and ball, KKR finished at the third spot in the league stage and played the second qualifier of IPL 2018. 

By Salman Anjum - 27 May, 2018

    Share Via